RSS

Games that Shaped My Childhood

02 Apr

So, a couple days ago, @jaedia, @maekagaming and @mylin1 on Twitter were chatting about this site: anilist.co. It’s a site where you can share what anime or manga you are watching, reading, or have watched and read in the past. I made an account and started to sift through their catalog which can be sorted in a few ways. The one I chose was by year… and it goes all the way back to 1986. I started browsing through and adding each one I remember watching as a kid – and I couldn’t stop. I kept going until I browsed through all of the years from 1986 to 2015. It was like reliving my childhood through remembering what I used to watch; some of them many, many times. Growing up with Japanese blood in my veins, I was fortunate enough to be able to watch a lot of these before the genre even became popular in the “West”. Some shows and movies, I know will feel ridiculous if I watch them now, but it was a part of my life back then. I haven’t gone through the lists of manga, and I’m not sure that I will, since the process was so time consuming!

This made me think: What games have I played throughout my childhood? I made a list from memory, some with Google’s help (what was that tank game in Atari… or that plane game?), but mostly from memory. Games that made a lasting impression on me. Games which I spent many hours trying to beat, and still failed (curse you Ninja Gaiden…). Games which I shared and played together with my friends. These span back from my childhood days to probably around college. A lot of more current games are not on this list (like the Bioshock Series), which definitely left an impact, but wouldn’t consider a part of my “childhood”. I’d say my active gaming life stopped after that until last year, when I kind of dove head-first back into the gaming scene once more. I’m probably missing some that I shouldn’t be forgetting, but here’s my list:

ATARI: Missile Command / River Raid / Qbert / Donkey Kong / Combat

NES: Super Mario Bros / Final Fantasy / Dragon Quest 3 and 4 / Legend of Zelda / Fire and Ice / Balloon Fight / Contra / Super Contra / Megaman 3 and 4 / TMNT 1 and 2 / Tetris / Gradius / Double Dragon Series / Ninja Gaiden 1 and 2

Gameboy: Zelda: Link’s Awakening / Super Mario Land / Solar Striker / Warioland / Dr. Mario / Picross

SNES: Zelda: A Link to the Past / Super Mario World / Super Robot Taisen Series / The Great Battle Series / Goemon Series / Final Fantasy 4 and 6 / Dragon Quest 5 / Ogre Battle / Tactics Ogre / Star Ocean 2 / Tales of Phantasia / Chrono Trigger / Secret of Mana / Secret of Evermore / Final Fight

Sega Genesis: Streets of Rage 1 and 2

N64: Golden Eye / Super Mario 64 / Zelda: Ocarina of Time

Playstation: Tekken 3 / Soul Caliber / Metal Gear Solid 1 and 2 / Final Fantasy VII / Final Fantasy VIII / Chrono Cross / Grandia / Xenogears / Legend of Dragoon

PC: Oregon Trail / Number Munchers / Where in the World is Carmen Sandiego? / Outnumbered! / Hugo’s House of Horrors / Monkey Island 1 and 2 / King’s Quest 1-6 / Police Quest and Space Quest (Don’t remember which of the series) / Quest for Glory / Wolfpack / Doom 1 and 2 / Duke Nukem 3D / AD&D: Pools of Radiance / Myst / Journeyman Project 2: Buried in Time / Diablo / Warcraft 2 and 3 / Warlords 3 / Starcraft / Baldur’s Gate 2 / Morrowind

Online (MUDs): Gemstone III / Iconoclast / Achaea: Dreams of Divine Lands

Does any of this compare with your gaming history? What games shaped your childhood? (BTW, If anyone wants to see my anime/manga list, check it here.)

 
2 Comments

Posted by on April 2, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “Games that Shaped My Childhood

  1. Matthew Thompson

    April 3, 2015 at 4:04 pm

    Super Mario Bros. 3, Sonic 2 and The Legend of Zelda were probably the big ones for me when I was young.

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • soulboundlife

      April 3, 2015 at 4:08 pm

      Didn’t play Mario 3 as much, but it should probably be in there! Too many to remember.

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
Adventures of a Lalafell

A Final Fantasy FFXIV: A Realm Reborn Blog

Mama Druid

Nature loving Mom shares photos, screen shots, stories, games, names, language, and etymology.

Composer Winifred Phillips

Thoughts about music, video games, etc.

A Kirsty Moment

has retired!

Stylish Corpse

MMO musings and commentary

Gamers Decrypted

Musings on Gaming, Music and Life

Ancient Mana

GREAT GOOGLY MOOGELY

Absolution

The Lazy Sniper

MMO Gamer Chick

Just a girl in a MMO world.

Healing the masses

One voxel at a time

Ariellalphabet

Video games. Magical Girls. Glitter.

kam's korner

my love for writing, gaming and blogging manifest

The Curious Cat

All the random things I think about... but mostly video games ^^0

Tales of the Aggronaut

Life and times of Belghast: Blogger, Podcaster, Tank, MMO Gamer, Husband, Cat and Ferret Tender, etc

Games I Made My Girlfriend Play

An avid gamer shares his favorite pastime with the woman he loves.

Moonshine Mansion

The gaming blog that moonshine built

8bit Kitchen

Because you can't save the world on an empty stomach.

Recollections of Play

Gaming, music, life, and more

Gaming Conversations

with Braxwolf Stormchaser

Me Vs. Myself and I

A little bit of everything, a whole lot of nothing.

MMO Gypsy

mmorpgs, mmo gaming

Thinking Play

Musings on games and playing

GamingSF

Online gaming blog

