RSS

Day 1: “Here I am, on the road again…”

01 Aug

Blaugust Day 1 (Don’t know what this is? Come participate in this month-long blogging challenge!)

This first post is a little summary of where I am in my non-gaming life, and where I hope to be in the near future. It’s a little more rambly than usual, and a little less edited:

It’s construction season here in Chi-town and traffic gets worse by the day. Scrambling for a promotion makes me work harder than my pay dictates; and with the extra band practices and lessons in the evening, that leaves very little “me” time. I’m struggling to find the energy to do anything creative and productive, not to mention the social gaming I really crave at times.

My MMO gaming has been put on hold as of a couple weeks ago, as I just can’t commit to logging in enough to run content with guildies and friends. I want to get through WildStar’s dungeons, especially Sanctuary of the Swordmaiden, but I rarely have the energy to do so by the time my non-gaming day ends. I occasionally log into FFXIV to power through the sluggish main story quests to see if it will get better for me. I’ve only run a couple dungeons in the past few months since I resubbed, and have only been logging in about once a week.

Even my Twitter activity has been dropping lately.

On the plus side, I’ve been hanging out with @MaekaGaming and her crew on ARK: Survival Evolved when I can, and playing the mobile game Happy Street with a few Twitter friends on the go. These two games have been providing me with the social aspect of gaming so far while I run around trying to push my life forward; and I’m pretty content for now. I really do enjoy socializing with a few good people.

Some random things I have been doing, which may become blog post topics in the future:

Playing through several games, whenever the urge strikes: ARK: Survival Evolved, Clicker Heroes, The Longest Journey, Overlord, Rayman Legends, Valkyria Chronicles

Trying to read through these books, whenever the urge strikes: Have Space Suit-Will Travel by Robert A. Heinlein, The Fountainhead by Ayn Rand, and Thank You for Arguing by Jay Heinrichs

Playing with Twine 2. A mini-WildStar piece may be in the works there.

Trying to learn the Hyrule Castle theme on piano. It’s harder than I thought.

Just bought a graphite and charcoal drawing set. Have no clue what I’m doing, but it’ll be fun.

Working with friends to create a 2D action (RPG?) game based on their story/comic book universe in the works. It’s an experiment, and will most likely take a while to complete (if we do, of course). I’m hoping to contribute in the writing and music aspect, as well as collaborate on general gameplay mechanic and design ideas.

I guess I’m in a state where I want to try everything and see what sticks.

Onward, to Day 2!

~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Why you don’t see me in game:

My average day begins at 6am and ends at 9pm.

6am: Wake up and exercise (Hero’s Journey).

7am: The Long Commute

8am-4pm: Work

5pm: Get home; maybe a short nap.

6pm: Lesson/Band Practice/Hang-out time with son

8:30pm-9pm: Home! Tired! Give me 5-hour energy!

 

 
10 Comments

Posted by on August 1, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

10 responses to “Day 1: “Here I am, on the road again…”

  1. Simcha

    August 1, 2015 at 11:44 am

    Ohhh Have Space Suit-Will Travel by Robert A. Heinlein! That was totally my favourite as a kid! I hope you will enjoy that!

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • soulboundlife

      August 1, 2015 at 12:20 pm

      One of my favs by him is The Moon is a Harsh Mistress. I’m liking this one so far. It grabs you from the start and takes you places.

      Like

       
  2. Jaedia

    August 1, 2015 at 2:50 pm

    Have you seen Izlain’s Gamer To-Do List? It’s something I’m looking at to try and find more focus. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • soulboundlife

      August 1, 2015 at 2:56 pm

      I did! I don’t want to be too structured, but I am focusing on fewer games at a time these days. The problem is, most games I play are long. 😛

      Like

       
  3. C. T. Murphy

    August 1, 2015 at 7:37 pm

    Man, I miss Chicago food. I need my deep dishes and Italian Beefs and Italian sausages. I gained so much weight living in the area, but it was worth it once the cold kicked in!

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • soulboundlife

      August 1, 2015 at 8:03 pm

      Haha. I bet you don’t miss the winters! Deep dish is a bit much for me, but I love sausages! Yum.

      Liked by 1 person

       
      • C. T. Murphy

        August 1, 2015 at 8:06 pm

        I am in Florida right now and I do miss the winters. While I am terrible at driving on snow, I am too pale to handle this heat! i wilt.

        Liked by 1 person

         
  4. Hestiah Ravenwood (@hestiahdruid)

    August 1, 2015 at 11:38 pm

    I feel kind of weird and creepy for being in the same city as you (totally randomly) and fixating on that one sentence. Mostly because I’m witnessing the construction first-hand! Yay for new bloggers (to me) and other people’s Blaugust adventures to follow along with!

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • soulboundlife

      August 1, 2015 at 11:43 pm

      Yay for local peeps! Boo, to the 390 construction! 😛 Good luck with the blogging!

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
Adventures of a Lalafell

A Final Fantasy FFXIV: A Realm Reborn Blog

Mama Druid

Nature loving Mom shares photos, screen shots, stories, games, names, language, and etymology.

Composer Winifred Phillips

Thoughts about music, video games, etc.

A Kirsty Moment

has retired!

Stylish Corpse

MMO musings and commentary

Gamers Decrypted

Musings on Gaming, Music and Life

Ancient Mana

GREAT GOOGLY MOOGELY

Absolution

The Lazy Sniper

MMO Gamer Chick

Just a girl in a MMO world.

Healing the masses

One voxel at a time

Ariellalphabet

Video games. Magical Girls. Glitter.

kam's korner

my love for writing, gaming and blogging manifest

The Curious Cat

All the random things I think about... but mostly video games ^^0

Tales of the Aggronaut

Life and times of Belghast: Blogger, Podcaster, Tank, MMO Gamer, Husband, Cat and Ferret Tender, etc

Games I Made My Girlfriend Play

An avid gamer shares his favorite pastime with the woman he loves.

Moonshine Mansion

The gaming blog that moonshine built

8bit Kitchen

Because you can't save the world on an empty stomach.

Recollections of Play

Gaming, music, life, and more

Gaming Conversations

with Braxwolf Stormchaser

Me Vs. Myself and I

A little bit of everything, a whole lot of nothing.

MMO Gypsy

mmorpgs, mmo gaming

Thinking Play

Musings on games and playing

GamingSF

Online gaming blog

