RSS

Day 2: “Have some cake.”

02 Aug

Blaugust Day 2 (Come participate in this month-long blogging challenge!) 

This was gonna be a post about juggling multiple games. It’s become a post about just one game, cuz it deserves it.

~ ~ ~ ~ ~

I finished a game and it was glorious. Now that I think back on it, I should have bought myself a cake. In this age of ginormous digital game libraries, we should take time to celebrate these special occasions, don’t you think?

Tomb Raider, have some cake.

I never played the original series – although I do remember all the Lara Croft/hot-video-game-chick jokes floating around as a teenager. This new iteration of the franchise has won me over, and is now special to me for several reasons:

1. It is the first full game I completed so far in 2015*. It felt like forever since I finished one, considering how much my Steam library grew over the past year.

2. I beat it with an XBox Controller. I haven’t shot a gun on a console since N64’s Golden Eye.

3. It was just freakin’ awesome. It was beautiful. It was thrilling. The coordination between the visuals, the camera movements, the music, the sound effects, the rumbling controller… it truly created an “experience” that made me want to see it through to the end.

4. The discovery that Rihanna Pratchett, the daughter of one of my favorite authors – Terry Pratchett, is a video game writer and that she wrote for this game! She also worked on the Overlord series, which I’ve now added to my library. Mirror’s Edge, I’m coming for you soon.

I’m really looking forward to the next game. I can’t wait to play it! Oh, if you still haven’t played this version of Tomb Raider, you are seriously missing out!

Go do it, before we’re no longer friends!

Onward, to Day 3!

P.S. Someone on Twitter called it a Lara Croft Torture Simulator. I think that sums it up pretty nicely.

*I did finish Bioshock Infinite: Burial at Sea earlier this year, which was also significant for me, but that was a DLC and has already been addressed in a previous post. I also completed Gone Home post-Tomb Raider, but that is a topic for another day.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on August 2, 2015 in Gaming

 

Tags: , ,

8 responses to “Day 2: “Have some cake.”

  1. Syl

    August 2, 2015 at 8:47 am

    I have been following Rihanna Pratchett for a while now, she’s a wonderful writer and also great twitter presence btw. I enjoyed her discussion with TB a while ago where she is basically educating him on the character diversity issue in games: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RJUHm9v6uOQ

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • soulboundlife

      August 2, 2015 at 9:53 am

      Nice. I followed her before I realized out she was a game writer. 😛 I’ll check out the video later today!

      Like

       
    • soulboundlife

      August 2, 2015 at 1:43 pm

      I actually did listen to this one. And a couple other interviews. Great stuff!

      Like

       
  2. C. T. Murphy

    August 2, 2015 at 4:51 pm

    Finishing a game will always be something worth celebrating. I beat God of War 3 last night and I wanted to jump for joy now that I have knocked off it and the trilogy!

    Liked by 1 person

     

Leave a Reply

 
Adventures of a Lalafell

A Final Fantasy FFXIV: A Realm Reborn Blog

Mama Druid

Nature loving Mom shares photos, screen shots, stories, games, names, language, and etymology.

Composer Winifred Phillips

Thoughts about music, video games, etc.

A Kirsty Moment

has retired!

Stylish Corpse

MMO musings and commentary

Gamers Decrypted

Musings on Gaming, Music and Life

Ancient Mana

GREAT GOOGLY MOOGELY

Absolution

The Lazy Sniper

MMO Gamer Chick

Just a girl in a MMO world.

Healing the masses

One voxel at a time

Ariellalphabet

Video games. Magical Girls. Glitter.

kam's korner

my love for writing, gaming and blogging manifest

The Curious Cat

All the random things I think about... but mostly video games ^^0

Tales of the Aggronaut

Life and times of Belghast: Blogger, Podcaster, Tank, MMO Gamer, Husband, Cat and Ferret Tender, etc

Games I Made My Girlfriend Play

An avid gamer shares his favorite pastime with the woman he loves.

Moonshine Mansion

The gaming blog that moonshine built

8bit Kitchen

Because you can't save the world on an empty stomach.

Recollections of Play

Gaming, music, life, and more

Gaming Conversations

with Braxwolf Stormchaser

Me Vs. Myself and I

A little bit of everything, a whole lot of nothing.

MMO Gypsy

mmorpgs, mmo gaming

Thinking Play

Musings on games and playing

GamingSF

Online gaming blog

