RSS

Day 4: “Even with nougat, you can have a perfect moment.”

04 Aug

Blaugust Entry: Day 4 

Monday night is the one night in the week I can spend however I like, with absolutely no obligations to worry about.

I had an evening to do whatever I wanted, and I spent it doing two things: playing Clicker Heroes, and re-reading Terry Pratchett’s, Thief of Time. I think the almost mindless clicking of the game helped keep some space in my brain to take in all the reading I did; anything more may have taken too much mental space I needed. Anyways, the book.

I picked this book back up because I realized that, in yesterday’s post, I didn’t include any books at all. I thought on the books which gave me both an intense and satisfying intellectual and emotional experience, and this was one of the first which came to mind.

It’s been a while since I read this one, and I had forgotten how good it is. Thief of Time is the first Discworld novel I read, and it was the one which made me fall in love with Terry Pratchett’s works. It’s one of those books where the story not only arcs, but swirls and swirls until your brain tells you it can’t take it anymore – and then it all comes rushing together in a way that melts your heart and makes you feel more alive than you were moments ago. From the small scale immediate action to the grander scope of the novel, there is a web of delicate intricacy that I so admire in this novel. And there’s the witty humor – sorry… humour – everywhere.  How can something be so funny, thrilling, and deeply insightful all at once? It’s a rare talent, and it will truly be missed.

To be honest, I’m not a fan of all of the Discworld novels. Some felt a little flat, and some, I just didn’t get (maybe it’s the British humor?), but the following three, for sure, will remain in my favorites list for a long time to come: Small Gods, Going Postal, and Thief of Time.

If you haven’t read any of Terry Pratchett’s novels before, give these a whirl. It will make your life a whole lot richer.

Onward, to Day 5!

To participate in this month-long blogging challenge, check out the official Blaugust page!

 
5 Comments

Posted by on August 4, 2015 in Books

 

Tags: , , ,

5 responses to “Day 4: “Even with nougat, you can have a perfect moment.”

  1. Ari Carr

    August 4, 2015 at 8:21 am

    I’ve only read a few Pratchett books but the only one that really stands out in my mind is Mort. That one was really good!

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • soulboundlife

      August 4, 2015 at 8:50 am

      Ack! You reminded me. That’s actually one I have to go and read still. I believe one of the protagonists in Thief of Time is Mort’s daughter.

      Like

       
  2. Jeromai

    August 4, 2015 at 10:47 am

    I used to be only fond of Mort and Reaper Man, then a friend pointed out how cleverly crafted practically every sentence is in any of Prachett’s books. There’s a gag or parody or joke or sardonic commentary of something on practically -every- page, if not every paragraph.

    I reread The Colour of Magic with a more discerning eye, suddenly realizing that he had been subtly poking fun at practically every standard fantasy trope there was, and became an instant fan of all of his works.

    RIP Sir Pratchett. *salutes*

    Liked by 1 person

     
  3. Thalen

    August 4, 2015 at 3:00 pm

    Discworld is without question my favorite book series of all time. I’m simultaneously anticipating and dreading the release of The Shepherd’s Crown next month. The knowledge that it will be the very last makes it bittersweet.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  4. C. T. Murphy

    August 4, 2015 at 8:47 pm

    Mondays are my Terraria nights with the boys, only the International interrupted that this week. I read blogs instead and cuddled with the lady, so still a good night.

    Liked by 1 person

     

Leave a Reply

 
Adventures of a Lalafell

A Final Fantasy FFXIV: A Realm Reborn Blog

Mama Druid

Nature loving Mom shares photos, screen shots, stories, games, names, language, and etymology.

Composer Winifred Phillips

Thoughts about music, video games, etc.

A Kirsty Moment

has retired!

Stylish Corpse

MMO musings and commentary

Gamers Decrypted

Musings on Gaming, Music and Life

Ancient Mana

GREAT GOOGLY MOOGELY

Absolution

The Lazy Sniper

MMO Gamer Chick

Just a girl in a MMO world.

Healing the masses

One voxel at a time

Ariellalphabet

Video games. Magical Girls. Glitter.

kam's korner

my love for writing, gaming and blogging manifest

The Curious Cat

All the random things I think about... but mostly video games ^^0

Tales of the Aggronaut

Life and times of Belghast: Blogger, Podcaster, Tank, MMO Gamer, Husband, Cat and Ferret Tender, etc

Games I Made My Girlfriend Play

An avid gamer shares his favorite pastime with the woman he loves.

Moonshine Mansion

The gaming blog that moonshine built

8bit Kitchen

Because you can't save the world on an empty stomach.

Recollections of Play

Gaming, music, life, and more

Gaming Conversations

with Braxwolf Stormchaser

Me Vs. Myself and I

A little bit of everything, a whole lot of nothing.

Sygnus.org - Fantasy Writing Blog

Fantasy Writing, Fantasy Art, & Creative Inspiration

MMO Gypsy

mmorpgs, mmo gaming

Thinking Play

Musings on games and playing

GamingSF

Online gaming blog

