RSS

Day 7: The Art of Button Mashing and Cannibal Pacmen

07 Aug

Blaugust Entry, Day 7

Last night, I played some games, but it wasn’t the usual kind I play at home. Some of my work buddies were going to an all-you-can-play night at GameWorks, and I was going to be literally 5 minutes away from it. 

I ate a delicious greaseburger at MeatHead, then headed over to meet up with my friends. 

I’ve been to an arcade probably three times in the last ten years or so, and I keep forgetting how physical a lot of these games are, if only in a very primitive way. 

The majority of the games on offer were either racing games, or shooters. We spent a good amount of time blasting zombies in House of the Dead 2, 3 and 4. They were all right next to eachother. Holding that shotgun up for minutes at a time is a workout of its own. 

The two highlights of my evening were:

1. Semi-button-mashing and winning two rounds against my friend in Tatsunoko Vs. Capcom. The key here is that he chose Ryu and Chun Li, while I chose two unknowns. My calculated blocking and jumping of Hadoukens, combined with my graceful mashing of four red buttons gave me a double victory! Woot!

2. 4-Player Pacman

Four players munch dots, avoid ghosts, bump into eachother, eat big dots, become Giant Pacman, eat other puny Pacmen, and scream triumphantly as you defeat all of your friends! 

The best feeling is when you skillfully outmaneuver the pursuing Giant Pacman just when they think they got you. Until you run into the mouth of another one. Ugh. They should totally release this on Steam. 

It was a fun night, even though it was really hard to get up in the morning. 

With all the physicality these arcade games rely on, I wonder if VR tech will bring about a new boom in arcades in the near future. It’s an interesting thought. 

Onward, to Day 8!

To participate in this month-long blogging challenge, check out the official Blaugust


 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 7, 2015 in Gaming

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
Adventures of a Lalafell

A Final Fantasy FFXIV: A Realm Reborn Blog

Mama Druid

Nature loving Mom shares photos, screen shots, stories, games, names, language, and etymology.

Composer Winifred Phillips

Thoughts about music, video games, etc.

A Kirsty Moment

has retired!

Stylish Corpse

MMO musings and commentary

Gamers Decrypted

Musings on Gaming, Music and Life

Ancient Mana

GREAT GOOGLY MOOGELY

Absolution

The Lazy Sniper

MMO Gamer Chick

Just a girl in a MMO world.

Healing the masses

One voxel at a time

Ariellalphabet

Video games. Magical Girls. Glitter.

kam's korner

my love for writing, gaming and blogging manifest

The Curious Cat

All the random things I think about... but mostly video games ^^0

Tales of the Aggronaut

Life and times of Belghast: Blogger, Podcaster, Tank, MMO Gamer, Husband, Cat and Ferret Tender, etc

Games I Made My Girlfriend Play

An avid gamer shares his favorite pastime with the woman he loves.

Moonshine Mansion

The gaming blog that moonshine built

8bit Kitchen

Because you can't save the world on an empty stomach.

Recollections of Play

Gaming, music, life, and more

Gaming Conversations

with Braxwolf Stormchaser

Me Vs. Myself and I

A little bit of everything, a whole lot of nothing.

Sygnus.org - Fantasy Writing Blog

Fantasy Writing, Fantasy Art, & Creative Inspiration

MMO Gypsy

mmorpgs, mmo gaming

Thinking Play

Musings on games and playing

GamingSF

Online gaming blog

