RSS

Day 15: He Shoots, He “Scores”!?

15 Aug

Blaugust Entry, Day 15

This past week, both my exercise and blogging has been pushed back later and later in the day. I used to exercise when I first woke up before heading to work. When I started the Blaugust challenge, I would write the night before and schedule it to post in the morning. Then, it got pushed back to after getting home from work. Now it’s before bedtime. Let’s bring it back! It’s the weekend – the best time to make a schedule shift.

All right.

Goals.

I love gaming. I love music. I love writing.

I feel like music and writing share a lot of the same brain-space in terms of harnessing creativity and communicating ideas. Visual art is probably the same, though I have little experience with it.

Since high school, I wanted to make music a career. I even started to have the mindset that if I wanted to be a serious musician, I need to be be able to enjoy all sorts of music and not shun any particular genre just because it’s not the cool thing, or it’s the devil’s music, etc etc. I took music theory classes. I started practicing violin on my own (gasp), and even sought out a part for guitar in the musical, “Crazy for You”. I’ve been studying and playing music ever since for the goal of working in the field. I love music.

At this point in my life, I’m not sure I want to work in the traditional music industry anymore. Gigging locally is tiring enough as it is. Writing pop songs? Jingles? Setting up and running PA systems? Not sure it’s the right direction for me.

But wait! I love gaming, too! I’ve loved video game music since back in the NES days. As a teen, I’ve daydreamed with friends about how cool it would be to be able to make video game music ourselves. Back then, it seemed like such a far-fetched dream.

The thing is, it’s not a dream anymore. With the acceptance of gaming in the mainstream culture and the proliferation of indie game development, now is the perfect time to do it, and it’s well within reach. I just need to work on my craft.

It’s time to get it up to speed.

Here is my progress on my track a day Music Challenge so far. Track 3 will come on tomorrow’s post, as I’m writing this the night I finished number 2.

Onward, to Day 16!

To participate in this month-long blogging challenge, check out the official Blaugust.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 15, 2015 in Music

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
Adventures of a Lalafell

A Final Fantasy FFXIV: A Realm Reborn Blog

Mama Druid

Nature loving Mom shares photos, screen shots, stories, games, names, language, and etymology.

Composer Winifred Phillips

Thoughts about music, video games, etc.

A Kirsty Moment

has retired!

Stylish Corpse

MMO musings and commentary

Gamers Decrypted

Musings on Gaming, Music and Life

Ancient Mana

GREAT GOOGLY MOOGELY

Absolution

The Lazy Sniper

MMO Gamer Chick

Just a girl in a MMO world.

Healing the masses

One voxel at a time

Ariellalphabet

Video games. Magical Girls. Glitter.

kam's korner

my love for writing, gaming and blogging manifest

The Curious Cat

All the random things I think about... but mostly video games ^^0

Tales of the Aggronaut

Life and times of Belghast: Blogger, Podcaster, Tank, MMO Gamer, Husband, Cat and Ferret Tender, etc

Games I Made My Girlfriend Play

An avid gamer shares his favorite pastime with the woman he loves.

Moonshine Mansion

The gaming blog that moonshine built

8bit Kitchen

Because you can't save the world on an empty stomach.

Recollections of Play

Gaming, music, life, and more

Gaming Conversations

with Braxwolf Stormchaser

Me Vs. Myself and I

A little bit of everything, a whole lot of nothing.

Sygnus.org - Fantasy Writing Blog

Fantasy Writing, Fantasy Art, & Creative Inspiration

MMO Gypsy

mmorpgs, mmo gaming

Thinking Play

Musings on games and playing

GamingSF

Online gaming blog

