RSS

Day 27: Blah

27 Aug

 

Blaugust Entry, Day 27

Oh boy. It’s 11PM and I don’t know what to write about. Well, I have lots to write about. It’s more the matter of what I feel like I can write about.

My weekdays have been so full that I rarely have the energy to play any games midweek.

I took a break from staring at this screen to play some Triple Triad on my phone. I like this incarnation better than the FFXIV version. It has character cards from FFI all the way to FFXIII, too!

I haven’t played WildStar since I hit level 50 on my second character about a month ago, maybe. I don’t even remember when it was. I decided to take an MMO break. I haven’t played FFXIV, Guild Wars 2, The Secret World; all of these games I still have installed on my PC, I haven’t touched recently.

Interacting with my game friends on Twitter is one thing, but not being able to do anything together in the games that we are a part of makes me sad. The first time I even saw one of my WildStar Twitter buddies in-game was a few weeks ago, and it was in ARK!

Playing games and being social can feel like work sometimes. I don’t want to have to make a schedule to play together with others. But playing on my own terms means playing alone for the most part. I either need to compromise, or give up certain expectations from my gaming experience.

I wish I had entire afternoons to sit at home and play. Just like in the old days.

 

Music Challenge #14

A Track-a-day Challenge as an exercise in establishing efficient creative-workflow.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on August 27, 2015 in Gaming, Life

 

Tags: ,

2 responses to “Day 27: Blah

  1. Ysharros

    August 28, 2015 at 1:04 pm

    Per @Wolfyseyes: “I TOTES AGREE WITH YOU HIGH FIVE!”

    More seriously — it *is* hard work being social, at least for someone like me. Worthwhile most of the time, don’t get me wrong, but exhausting.

    Even more seriously — I’ve come to the same realisation re: scheduling. I have loads and loads of RL and e-friends I love spending time with, but we all now have jobs, pets, often kids, schoolwork (PhDs in most cases 😉 ), other commitments, and Netflix. And I realise now that since we’re not online as much as we all used to be, running into each other in games is highly unlikely… so scheduling might be the only way to go.

    It’s not a bad thing, but it *is* kind of weird.

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • soulboundlife

      August 28, 2015 at 1:12 pm

      Yeah. Might need to do that, especially for dungeon runs and such. Discord might be a good way to coordinate before popping in-game as well. We shall see!

      Liked by 1 person

       

Leave a Reply

 
Adventures of a Lalafell

A Final Fantasy FFXIV: A Realm Reborn Blog

Mama Druid

Nature loving Mom shares photos, screen shots, stories, games, names, language, and etymology.

Composer Winifred Phillips

Thoughts about music, video games, etc.

A Kirsty Moment

has retired!

Stylish Corpse

MMO musings and commentary

Gamers Decrypted

Musings on Gaming, Music and Life

Ancient Mana

GREAT GOOGLY MOOGELY

Absolution

The Lazy Sniper

MMO Gamer Chick

Just a girl in a MMO world.

Healing the masses

One voxel at a time

Ariellalphabet

Video games. Magical Girls. Glitter.

kam's korner

my love for writing, gaming and blogging manifest

The Curious Cat

All the random things I think about... but mostly video games ^^0

Tales of the Aggronaut

Life and times of Belghast: Blogger, Podcaster, Tank, MMO Gamer, Husband, Cat and Ferret Tender, etc

Games I Made My Girlfriend Play

An avid gamer shares his favorite pastime with the woman he loves.

Moonshine Mansion

The gaming blog that moonshine built

8bit Kitchen

Because you can't save the world on an empty stomach.

Recollections of Play

Gaming, music, life, and more

Gaming Conversations

with Braxwolf Stormchaser

Me Vs. Myself and I

A little bit of everything, a whole lot of nothing.

MMO Gypsy

mmorpgs, mmo gaming

Thinking Play

Musings on games and playing

GamingSF

Online gaming blog

